Blue sky and birdsong

It seems that the local bird life much prefers to visit the garden that we share with our neighbours rather than our own back garden. I wonder if this is something to do with the larger open space and taller trees? Whatever the reason, I headed there for my blip at lunchtime today to capture this happy goldfinch (I think).

Mr hazelh and I each enjoyed our single real-life social interaction of the week this morning. Taking the same route at the same time, but in opposite directions, I went for a run with Caitlin while Mr hazelh's exercise partner was Paddy. These are such precious moments during lockdown, and I especially enjoy the chat with Caitlin. (I've decided to limit my runs to just one a week until I know that my knee can take more.)

Our friend Mark (last seen almost a year ago) rang us this afternoon to invite us to do the same as he and Audrey and book a Caribbean holiday with them at the end of the year. While tempting, the timings don't really fit with my work, and I'm not sure that I can go through the disappointment of yet more cancelled holiday plans. Anyway, I'm hoping that my first proper trip will be to Malvern to visit places associated with my (no longer) secret recreational project and play board games with Cheeseminer.

Otherwise today I have been working my way through the papers that I printed in the office on Thursday and strengthening the literature review in my co-authored journal paper.

Thank you to everyone for their kind comments regarding my mother's fall on Wednesday night. She is doing well. Meanwhile Mr hazelh's mother took a tumble on a muddy path this afternoon. She was barely hurt, unlike her mobile phone that was accidentally shoved into the washing machine with all her dirty clothes as soon as she returned home from her walk...

Exercise today: 7k run with Caitlin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.