Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Empty Aisle, Some Empty Shelves

Routine takes me to the supermarket first thing on Saturday.  

There's been lots of media coverage recently about reinforcing the rule of wearing masks in stores.  While at wrk I've been visiting stores in our area to reinforce the message and find out what the companies are doing to make sure their customers comply.  It isn't easy, people only have to say that they are exempt, there is no national scheme to prove the statement.  Social distancing is also important so it was a pleasure to find an aisle clear of customers and the ubiquitous staff collecting for home shoppers that can create a solid line of trolleys and crates along the middle of these aisles, making it difficult to pass.

Despite saying all this the staff supervisor I spoke to said that they'd had only a few positive cases amongst staff, probably due to household transmission.  It made me wonder whether the large spaces modern supermarkets use, as well as the good ventilation, limits the opportunity for the virus to spread in these environments. 

Since January I’ve also noticed that the shelves have more gaps and certain staple items are missing every week.  It’s mainly relating to fresh produce so I asked what was happening.  Apparently, Our leaving the EU has had an impact on the import and distribution of some items.

So no leeks or favourite apples today. It makes me remember the past when seasonal fruit and vegetables was the norm. I’m sure it is just a glitch, I’ve noticed other examples where normal delivery is being compromised when the item is in Europe. Hopefully it will settle down soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.