Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Common bluebottle or Blue Triangle butterfly

I have seen blues in the garden before but maybe not one of these and boy was it hard to get flitting around and using manual focus.

Apologies for another butterfly shot but as this was a first shot of one of these I couldn't help myself.  I have put a badly focused one (not fast enough shutter speed to catch those flitting wings) in the extra to show you where it gets it's name from.

What long legs and proboscis it has.

I did a bit of research to identify it and read that it has an extreme spectral richness having 15 different types of photo receptors in each eye seeing ultraviolet and polarized light.   Most insect species have only three types.

It was also described as:
"Blue Triangle butterflies fly very fast and are seldom at rest. When they are feeding on flowers, their wings are held vertically and constantly vibrate."

I can attest to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.