Up and down

I left one panel of the shutters open last night so I could watch the sunrise but it was a mistake...kept waking in the night, I think because various lights kept intruding on my sleep.
The morning wasn’t quite so dull and cloudy as I’d feared and MH and I had planned a Pentlands walk so it was good to get the mix of snow and sunshine. We headed to the ‘Capital View’ walk round the back of the ski centre, although not sure we stuck exactly to the route, and wandered through some woods and both frozen and boggy sections. At one choice point we decided to head up the hill and were making good progress until I tried to pass her my stick for a tricky section and we watched as it slid all the way back down the hill...argh! This was taken as we headed back down to get it. Afterwards, we decided not to return to the top of the hill and instead went west. Several people fully equipped with poles and spikes on their boots, but others fell running as if there wasn’t any ice at all. I went down like Bambi at one point...despite my stick!....but slowly and not painfully, and we laughed as we tried to pick the less slippy routes which at one point meant we ended up in a dead end of gorse! Wandered around the hills enjoying the views and discussing her recent experience on a jury (done remotely in a cinema), future plans and our current lockdown exploits, and walked back across the golf course where one little boy was having a fabulous time on his sledge with his Dad dashing about trying to catch him at the bottom of the hills.
Dropped M back home then home myself where I fixed a new loo roll holder on the wall (absolutely hate these types of DIY jobs) and did some cleaning and some work, then supper and watching several episodes of Its a Sin. Gosh the mid 80s looked like a different world, although interesting to see some parallels with the early stages of this pandemic - the rumours, the fear, the misinformation. The differences, in prejudiced and inhumane treatment of those patients, were stark though....
Relatively early night after quite a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.