Working For 210 Years

The Bell Rock Lighthouse has been in operation since the 1st February 1811.

Today’s Blipfoto is of Robert Stevenson who designed and constructed the lighthouse.

Copies of this sculpture appeared in many of his lighthouses. This copy resides in the Signal Tower Museum in Arbroath. I took the photograph on my last visit, and for today’s version I converted it to monochrome.

Over the last year I had been asked to talk to eight separate groups about the lighthouse. Of course all had to be cancelled.

The enforced break has given me time to refresh the presentation and to create several new graphics incorporating additional information.

I have visited the Bell Rock Lighthouse location twice in the last five years. The first visit almost resulted in "being lost at sea" and the second was a much more peaceful event and a return to Arbroath complete with fish.

No bait was necessary. The fish literally jumped onto the hooks!

The weather forecast is not to promising for this week, with the prevailing wind coming out of the East.

I just checked the January electricity consumption for our place and compared to 2020 we have used 33% more. The increase is accounted for by heating. Our heating system is fully automatic and preprogrammed. I never adjust anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.