A TINY TUESDAY WALK WITH MY FRIEND, CAROLINE

When Mr. HCB and his friend were out walking yesterday, they saw Caroline, a friend of mine, who mentioned to them about going out for a walk with me and then followed it up with a message.  I must add that Caroline is my friend who walks in all winds and weathers, unlike me, who doesn’t like walking in the rain, so we tentatively arranged to walk together when the weather was fine. All right, I know I'm a wimp!

When I woke up this morning and saw the sun was shining, I sent a message to Caroline and we arranged to go for a physically distanced walk today - a case of "striking while the iron is hot" or "while the sun is shining"!

It was great to see Caroline again;  we reckoned it was about a year since we last met, whereas before all this malarkey we normally met once every couple of months for a coffee - but as we walked around together, it was just as if we had never been apart!  We had a good catch-up and it was great for me, because it was a different area in which to walk.  I did take lots of photographs of tiny things, but decided to make a collage, with the obligatory selfie (which Caroline wasn’t keen on) but she agreed, and sometimes, it just has to be done.  

It was a lovely morning - we have agreed to do it again and hopefully it won’t be as long before our next meeting.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t realise just how much I miss my friends until I actually meet one and then it reminds me of how difficult it is for all of us.  

As we walked along, we encountered two ladies out walking with their dogs - and also a little boy of about 2 or 3, who was having great fun jumping in the puddles - and there were a lot of them on the path where they were walking.  I did say to them that it always amazed me when a Mum shouted at her child and told them not to go in the puddles, especially when they were wearing wellies - after all, what are wellies for?  They both agreed and you can see from the bottom of the collage how dirty the little Pomeranian dog looks, but I’m sure that mud will soon wash off - although it might take a longer to get it off the little boy!

I needed to go to the Post Office when I got back, so as it’s in a nearby Tesco Express, I bought my sister some daffodils and popped them round to her, because she lives just over the road and I haven’t seen her for some weeks.  She lives in an upstairs flat, so she sat at the top of her stairs while I stood outside the front door and we had a physically distanced chat.  It seemed strange to be going over there and not popping in to see Mum, who used to live opposite!

All in all, a lovely morning - roll on the end of lockdown so that we can meet up with our family and friends again. Mr. HCB was at home and spent the morning in the garden, putting up the bird boxes - the job he was going to do yesterday - and we have already had some Blue Tits viewing so it looks promising. 

 It was definitely much warmer today - although I realise that we are much more fortunate that our friends up north - and you can tell by the various flowers in my collage that Spring is definitely on the way, which is something to look forward to.

“Spring will come and 
     so will happiness. 
          Hold on. 
               Life will get warmer.”
Anita Krizzan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.