LOOK FOR THE PROMISE

I told you yesterday that I’m a “fine weather walker” so today when I got up and saw it was dull, dank and dreary, I decided I wouldn’t go out for a walk, but instead have a wander around the garden, which might be a better option to find a Blip. 

As I wandered, I could see that there were lots of little shoots poking through the soil, both in pots and actually in the garden, then when I looked at the rhubarb bed, I spotted this little beauty.  It might look damp and claggy all around but in the midst of all that, there is promise - and a rhubarb crumble and custard sounds wonderful!

That’s exactly what’s happening in our world today - all around us is fear, hopelessness, despair, isolation and uncertainty but never forget that there is also promise.  Almost 10 million people have now been vaccinated against the virus and the number of cases of Covid and the deaths are falling, so there is definitely promise on the horizon.

However, we all need to be responsible and keep doing the best we can - then, as Captain Sir Tom Moore said, “Tomorrow will be a good day!”  What an amazing man and a wonderful role model, who raised over £33 million for NHS Charities.  I’m sure that millions of people, not only in the UK, but worldwide, will be thinking of his family today as they mourn his passing - but also thinking how proud they must be of all he achieved.  RIP Captain Sir Tom Moore. 

BREAKING NEWS :  Mr. HCB has just informed me that we are encouraged to clap for Captain Sir Tom at 1800 GMT on Wednesday - today.  This will also be for all the Health Workers for whom he raised so much money.

Here are two of his quotes:

“My message to the nation right now is, 
     tomorrow will be a good day!
We will get through this and 
     come out of it stronger, 
          more united and ready 
               to face any challenge together.”
April 2020.

“For all those people who are finding it difficult 
     at the moment: 
          the sun will shine on you again 
               and the clouds will go away.”
Captain Sir Tom Moore : 
his message of hope after completing the 100th lap of his walk

P.S.  The knitting is going very well, but last night, having completed one part, I started the second part without changing my needles to smaller ones, so had to unpick almost eleven rows of rib - I won't make that mistake again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.