MONO MONDAY - LOOKING OUT.....

…..over the Central Library, the Town Hall clock and the Murray John Tower.  

I had arranged this morning to take Kosi out for a long walk in order to give his Mum, Chi, some time for herself, now that Ngozi is at pre-school, but sadly the weather wasn’t good - in fact, just as I arrived to collect him, the heavens opened, so we decided to leave it for today - but will definitely get another date in the diary soon.

When I got home, Mr. HCB was rather fed up because he had planned to go out into the garden, so we decided to go out for coffee to Jack’s, where as usual, we met up with several friends.  Afterwards I walked down into the town, but went a different way to the one I would usually take.  I got some good shots of the Murray John Tower looking down on it from quite high up but when I got to Regent Circus, overlooking the Central Library and the Town Hall clock, with the Murray John Tower in the distance, I took several more shots and liked this one the best, just as the clock was striking midday.

Unfortunately, the area from which I took the photographs has not taken off quite as the town planners hoped it would and after quite a short time a large Morrison’s store and several restaurants have closed, and although it doesn’t look run-down yet, it does look rather sad and empty all around.  Mind you, our town centre looks tired and forlorn with many shops having closed - I do wonder whether people buying online has a lot to do with this, but I guess that’s how things are going to be for the foreseeable future.  

We were told many years ago that before too long all we would need is a pill to supply all our nutrients, so perhaps that will be the next thing - one pill a day - no shopping and no cooking needed to be done - whatever will we do with all the time we are saving or rather, how will we spend it?

“The main problem with this
     great obsession for saving time
          is very simple:
you can’t save time - 
     you can only spend it,
          but you can spend it wisely
               or foolishly.”
Benjamin Hoff

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments for yesterday's Blip - and apologise if I didn't comment on yours - time runs away from me quite often - and I don't suppose I'm the only one who finds this! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.