DERELICT SUNDAY

We had a good service at Church with some great songs and Susan reminded us that it’s good to encourage one another - because we all thrive on being affirmed and encouraged.

After the service, Mr. HCB had decided that we would drive down to the south of the county, to the Devizes area and then make our way back, looking for dereliction on the way.  As we drove, we noticed that many of the fields were waterlogged and obviously too wet for cattle to be grazing.  In fact, on quite a few of the puddles in the fields, seagulls were enjoying being able to bob about on the water, which showed how deep the puddles were.

To be honest, there wasn’t that much dereliction, until we came upon these outbuildings at West Lavington, but the pathway leading to them was awash with mud and grit, so we had to find a way of getting over that - I think perhaps I need to get some wellies to keep in the car for occasions such as these.  Mr. HCB sat in the car while I walked carefully along by the side of the wall, where there was a grassy part, but I was very careful not to slip and slide, especially as I had no spare clothes with me.  Job done and we went on our way, through lots of little villages - but on a grey and dull Sunday afternoon, there wasn’t much to encourage us to linger.
 
When we got home I had a little fartnarkle with my Painteresque app on my iPhone and this was the result. 

We came back through Pewsey and Marlborough, when Mr. HCB suggested we stop for a coffee at The Food Gallery and as we hadn’t had any lunch and it was quite late, we had some toast and honey - and it went down very well.  I know I have said it before, but it is so good to have toast served in a toast rack and not left to go soggy on the plate - so well done to the Food Gallery - the other bonus is that the staff are always kind, courteous and smiley!

In her sermon this morning, Susan used this quote and it bears including here:

“Flatter me, 
     and I may not believe you. 
Criticize me, 
     and I may not like you. 
Ignore me, 
     and I may not forgive you. 
Encourage me, 
     and I will not forget you. 
Love me 
     and I may be forced to love you.”

William Arthur Ward - American Scholar - 1921-1994

P.S.  For those who like quirky things, today’s date is a palindrome - 02/02/2020

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.