FLOWER FRIDAY ON SATURDAY

Triptych : a set of three associated artistic, literary, or musical works intended to be appreciated together.

As I mentioned a few days ago, I bought myself some beautiful tulips and had decided that they would be my Flower Friday blip, but when the snow fell yesterday, I changed my mind - after all, it is a woman’s prerogative to do that, isn’t it?  

Today, I made a triptych of three shots of different tulips - and those who know me well, will know that purple and mauve are my favourite colours.

Mr. HCB decided to walk along to the garage nearby to buy a newspaper, so I thought it would be a good opportunity to go and see my friend, Jean, especially as I hadn’t been able to go yesterday because of the snow.  I must admit that it was much more difficult walking than I had imagined and I was very aware that I could do quite a lot of damage if I slipped and fell, so I walked on the softer snow rather than the pavements, which were quite treacherous in places.  Mr. HCB suggested that I caught a bus that would take me part of the way, and I was glad to do so, although almost fell a number of times.

It was lovely to be with Jean and to reminisce about “the olden days” because we go back about fifty years and knew many of the same people when we lived near each other and went to the same church.  

Sadly, Jean’s husband, John, died earlier this week, and they had been married for over 60 years, but as I didn’t know them when they were first married, it was good to chat about how they met and how the values and traditions we had many years ago are very different from the ones that young people have today.

It doesn’t seem that long ago that we were both young wives and mothers with children and as we chatted for quite some time, the years fell away.  I guess it’s true that we may look different on the outside, but inside, we are still young-at-heart.

“Nobody grows old 
     merely by living a number of years; 
          we grow old by deserting our ideas. 
Years may wrinkle the skin, 
     but to give up enthusiasm 
          wrinkles the soul.” 
Samuel Ullman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.