tits up

Thank you mambo for telling me about tits up
Tits up : it’s all gone wrong.


This entertained me all morning and distracted me from my nerves. 


If you see a dead animal there is a good chance the tits are up.
But, if you see a pet with its tits up, it wants a belly rub.....


I have heard the phrase before, on the American show The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cqpZSIbZyeo
They use tits up to mean go to it! Stand up, stand straight, fake some confidence and get to it. This is the direct opposite meaning! 
https://www.beaconsofchange.com/tits-up-mrs-maisel/ is an article about American women taking the phrase as a positive exhortation. 



Thinking, "tits up" does encourage you to straighten your back, take a deep breath, and put out your chest, and walk forward either with confidence or faking it. 


Maybe it is like, "break a leg."


You can see how this disparity in meaning will lead to confusion.


Thank you for the good wishes. I don't know if I did well enough to get what I want, but I did well enough that I could happily meet any of them again in the future and not be embarrassed. 


Alas, there are no more episodes of Last Tango on Netflix. I'll have to wait until the fifth season appears on Netflix.


Maybe I can explore American English. For example, today I said, "out the wazoo." Then I asked what a wazoo is. Karen said it is the nose. Ladies and gentlemen, it is not the nose. It must be so hard for people trying to learn English. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.