If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

At last!

Like a good boy I have been waiting for my invitation to go for my Covid vaccination.  In the meantime I have been looking at how Cumbria is doing with regard to said vaccination.   There are 9 vaccination centres run by the 8 Primary Care Networks.

Two weeks ago Kanyl had his vaccination.  He was invited by letter telling him the time, date and place.  In his case it was to be at Penrith Hospital, very sensible he only lives a mile or so away.  The hospital is our nearest centre as well, about 5 miles.

When I opened my letter it said book through the website.   OK no problem.  So I logged in and was offered six possible centres, as follows:

Lancaster Town Hall                                    53 - 54 miles away.
Morecambe Cricket club                             55 - 56 miles away.
A pharmacy in Blackpool                            76 - 77 miles away.
Newcastle Centre for Life                            77- 78 miles away.
A pharmacy in Fleetwood                            79 - 80 miles away.
Winter Gardens Blackpool                            86 - 87 miles away.

With my GP practice giving vaccinations 5 miles away I am left with 2 thoughts.

1.  Why was I not offered a centre within the county (Yes I did check I had entered the postcode correctly).

2.  What happened to the lockdown rule of stay local?  It makes a farce of telling people not to leave their village, town or part of their city when the NHS encourage you to travel out of the county to a large urban area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.