If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Feed me! Feed me now!

One of the hen Pheasants is a bit more athletic or perhaps daring than the others.  She has been up on to the feeder tray on the feeding station and even up on the window cill peering into the living room.

I don't normally put food on the bird table or out for the ground feeders until everything has been cleared up from the last feed.  I looked out near lunchtime and everything had been cleared, as it was pouring down (no change there then) I thought I will wait for it to stop.

At that point the phone rang.  It was a friend who I was part of the support team for when he climbed the Old Man of Hoy.  He was pointing out that it was 10 years in July since we had the 40th anniversary reunion and tentatively talking in terms of having the 50th when Covid permitted.

That took an hour.  When I next glanced out of the window there she was up on top of the bird table peering in.  The look on her face said "Oi!  What about some service here".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.