Before breakfast!

Reg never gets up early.....unless there is snow on the ground and then he can't wait to get out of the door, especially if he has Barry to throw the snowballs for him! It snowed most of the day on and off and there was no melting, it didn't get above zero all day. A bit later the  farmer took food along for the sheep you can see across the valley and they moved away from the wall. Although most of the day saw some of them sheltering behind it from the wind and snow. I have that same view from one of my kitchen windows.
I didn't hold out much hope for Tesco delivering at 9pm as they hadn't managed it yesterday in daylight! But just before 9pm the phone rang to say he was at the bottom of the hill if we could collect the shopping from there. We donned our outside gear, which we had prepared knowing this could be the case and trooped off down the hill with the shopping trolley! He was a jolly chap and said he would probably have given the hill a go in daylight but thought if he got stuck he wouldn't be popular having to get rescued at night! Fair enough. As it was he had to drive back to Durham to finish his shift at 11pm. We are very lucky to get such good service out here. Hopefully by next week's delivery the snow will have gone!
As it was a 'non going out day,' not wanting to risk walking in the snow, I did some catch up sewing. I bought the Bobbins and Buttons Emily dungaree dress pattern last year. I had cut it out using some material from my stash and got as far as sewing the body part. I don't really like the material, it's shocking pink, so what with that and then everything else that happened at the end of last year it's just been left in the box. I almost completed it today and will hopefully do that tomorrow. I hope I don't hate the colour so much I don't wear it! If I like the fit and the style I will invest in some material I do like and make another!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.