PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Blip Square Metre 1

I love this challenge.

 https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2802467686456494648

Notwithstanding the atrocious rain today, I'm certainly not the only one reduced to staring out of my back window at the garden. 

It's only slightly hyperbolic to suggest that my health issues combined with a vocal minority of people who don't see the point of protecting other people..  well I feel like I've been under house arrest for nearly a year. 

My suburban geometry pic earlier this week, involved dodging folk who won't social distance and hostile looks every time I put my mask on as a result. At this point in time it's not surprising, but never stops being exasperating. 

So photographing a single square section of my back garden seems eminently fitting. 

Leaving to one side my increasingly misanthropic viewpoint, it's a great excuse to play with tone and composition. And maybe break some rules. 

I remember a lad at uni restricted himself to photographing his sink. 100 boring, seen-it-before pictures of sinks, led to picture 101 being the single most interesting picture of a sink I'd ever seen.

Restriction can lead to creation. 

EDIT: In other ( tangentially related ) news I wrote a blog post about my latest attempt at VR fitness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.