Be Mindfull Though

This afternoon the dullgrey sky would show some blue and hopefully sunny spots. But I started my Weserriversidewalk without a relieving brightness. But it was ok to get moving and breathing the soft air. The river is swollen but not yet flooding the sideway to the West.
As many memories and thoughts went through my mind I did not notice that I had already passed the Pair of Old Willows, my Philemon&Baucis as you will know. I went back for a moment to see if they could still keep their feet dry. Which they did, almost. From there I saw a sunny spot in the West. I was just in time to take a picture before the sun had vanished again.
On my arrival at the footferrylanding I saw the swans quietly floating near the border. Willemien used to photograph all swans wherever She met them. Of course she would also like ducks and geese and waterbirds. But swans and especially these two living in Herstelle/Würgassen had her great interest. She will have told you about their magic. There must be a link between their grace and beauty and Willemien’s love for ballet, dance and classical music.
So, I took my time and sat down on a treetrunk that had washed ashore. There we stayed together, keeping silent, not moving an inch. No wind blowing, the wide riverwater rippling , some noises in the vicinity. A peaceful time together.
From the waterfront I went a bit higher up. Under the old Limetree is a wayside shrine. Apparently someone has taken care of the flowers again. It had been neglected  last year.
We always halt here. Its a Holy Place. It bears two very meaningfull inscriptions. For tonight I will translate  one of them:
O YOU ALL TOGETHER//THOU WHO ON THY WAY//PASS BY BE MINDFULL// THOUGH AND SEE IF THERE MAY BE//A GRIEVING THAT COULD EQUAL MY SUFFERING…
ThankYou for this painfully liberating reminder which brought new consolation for the way back home. Behind me in the West the sun had set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.