Standing All-One in the Enlightened Darkness

Really I do enjoy passing much of the day in solitude. I could read the book of my choice: Anselm Gruen’s Challenge of Silence. Gruen is a Benedict Monk and a very empathic and active writer. I’ve  come to read many of his publications after I found a takeawaycopy of his Book on the Art of Living in S. Christophers Church in Wahmbeck/Upon Weser. I am still feeling blessed with this gift.

The book on Silence was warmly recommended by this Austrian writer I’m reading on her overcoming of catastrophic loss of family. Because it deals with loss, loneliness and solitude. I am grateful to have the opportunity to take my time to read and meditate. Downstairs cleaning can wait. What, I ought to write letters to friends&family? May everybody wait in patience or write a letter to me, uh..
Gruen gives a citation of a poem on solitude (al(l-)oneness) by Herman Hesse:

All over the Earth, Streets and Ways wend But they all have, the same End.
By two or three, you may ride and roam, But the last Step you take alone.
Thus there exists no Truth, as good as this known, Then that all that is hard, is done alone.
 
Perhaps we should less speak of the last step. Kierkegaard would speak of a “jump”, an act of letting go or surrender, like we fall in love. But who cares? I pray not being all alone  and now and then, for having the courage to be in G’ds Loving Hands. And I hope Willemien will be proud of my sustained efforts to carry on and enrich the meaningfullness of our long life Together in true Love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.