Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Centennial

Another day of non-stop rain and wind, but no snow (yet) in my neck of the woods. Another day when going outside held no attraction for me whatsoever.

I had a recording to do for one of the local churches for inclusion in Sunday's service so, having written my piece last night, I did my bit to camera this morning and emailed off the Dropbox link.

Then I turned my attention to clearing out a store room upstairs. For some reason there were a lot of empty boxes, never discarded after the contents had been unpacked. That's the paper and cardboard wheelie bin full already!

There were also lots and lots of boxes of 35mm slides, far too many to scan to digital but all labelled with a previous holiday destination or family event. A lot of old cameras too, so any ideas for their disposal would be welcome. They're not boxed and certainly not in pristine condition. A post-Covid auction visit perhaps.

And then some other boxes. One with football programmes from the 60s and 70s before I saw the light and switched my allegiances to Falkirk. One containing an engine and several carriages from my old (1960's) train set. Again, the box is barely intact although the rolling stock looks OK if not exactly in A1 condition.

And a box (remember when shirts were sold in boxes?) containing all sorts of memorabilia from my first trip to Canada in 1967. Leaflets and brochures picked up along the way - I was a 13-year-old on his first ever trip abroad with a penchant for collecting things - including many from Expo 67, the world fair held in Montreal to celebrate the centennial of Canada's confederation and which we visited for a week.

The tidying up took a back seat as I leafed through all these wonderful memories. I've visited Canada many times since, but Expo 67 lives long in the memory. Happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.