madowoi

By madowoi

Echo Lake Ice Shack

For the record, I have never been ice fishing. I do not feel comfortable walking out on a frozen lake or pond, even when I can see there are several pickup trucks driving around on the frozen surface. I do like the idea of hanging out in one of these shacks on a frozen lake, though. If I had one I'd make sure it could float just in case, then I'd just hang out in there and read or something. I very much doubt I would fish, although I have enjoyed fishing just fine from a rowboat or canoe in the summer time. Through a hole in the ice though? No thanks. That just seems like asking for trouble. Who knows what might come up out of that hole? Even knowing the chances some strange creature would appear are slim to none (notice I said slim to none), I just don't think I could really relax. It would be something like eating wild mushrooms I gathered myself; the idea that they just might be poisonous takes away all the enjoyment of eating them, even though I love mushrooms. If someone were to give me this ice shack as a present, I actually think I would prefer to hoist it up into a tree somewhere. Probably I would not be able to accomplish an engineering feat of that sort, and spending time in my new tree house would be far more dangerous than ice fishing. But I would. I think I would prefer to die falling out of a tree rather than falling through the ice (or succumbing to the curse of whatever strange thing came out of the fishing hole). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.