madowoi

By madowoi

I, Phone

Resistance was futile. I now own a "smart phone."

I grew up in the 70's without a television, which at the time made my family real outliers. I still don't have one and much prefer it that way. We raised our child without a tv and have no regrets. Years and years ago I complained about the fact that a day was coming when, in order to have a phone, I would basically need to have a tv as well. People scoffed and thought I was alarmist and out of touch. 

But you know, basically I was right.

So now, my new job pretty much requires that I have an internet connected phone with unlimited data. The flip phone doesn't cut it, and neither does the ipod. So I went out after work and got myself one of these newfangled devices.

[side note: while hanging around in the strange show room type atmosphere, I was too self conscious to take any photos, though I wanted to. I did, however, get to overhear a conversation about a man who dressed up in a specially designed suit that would allow him to be swallowed by a giant anaconda and survive. Apparently the anaconda refused to eat him though, so the story was a bit anti-climatic. Still, it made the experience a little bit more surreal, which I enjoyed.]

Anyhow, when I was finally handed my new phone I pressed the home key and was surprised that a keypad of numbers suddenly appeared. Much like the first time I swam in the ocean at age 24 and was surprised that it tasted like salt. Nothing beats actual experience, does it?

At least the camera is better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.