Lichen

The weather forecast was for a fairly dry start to the day so I decided to revisit the local common where I had previously seen several types of lichen.  It started to rain as I arrived but fortunately not for too long. As the lichen are so very small you have to lie down on the ground to get close to them.  At one point two women walked by and one commented that at first she thought I was resuscitating someone but then saw my camera.  I spent some time on the ground looking at different ones and stopped when I became aware of an unpleasant smell.  Looking at a corner of my rucksack and one of my gloves I realised I had not noticed where the rucksack was positioned when I used part of it to rest on.  This stopped me continuing and it started to rain.  Clearing up what I could I headed off for a quick walk around the area and decided that I may choose this area as part of the square metre challenge.  Coming back I found a way to recognise the particular spot so we shall see.  Its interesting to note that when I visited this area in January the Lichen were a bit more lush, I think the heavy rains and cold nights may have taken their toll.  This lichen is probably a Cladonia species maybe Cladonia pocillum.  The cup like structures are the fruiting bodies known as podia. 

Back home my jacket and gloves had a good wash as did my rucksack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.