Narrowboats reflected

This morning I went to the canal near home to have a walk on a rarely walked stretch.  After a short way the towpath became mud but when I got to a place where the mud was at least 2" deep and sloping down to the water I decided to turn around.  It would be unlikely that there would be passers by to help if I slipped in so I decided that it wasn't worth the risk. It's one of the penalties of being a solo walker!

I walked in the other direction but after a while came to part of the towpath that was thick mud as far as the eye could see. At this point I decided to give up as continuous mud doesn't make for a pleasant walk.  I'll leave that part of the canal until things dry out a bit!

On my walk I passed Whittington Wharf where holiday narrowboats are hired out.  They were all fastened up awaiting better times.  "Great Escape"  is something that we'd probably all like to do at the moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.