Adam's Images

By ajt

RAdio Detection And Ranging

Odd sort of day. While my wife did some shopping I looked at the broken garden gate lock. The mechanism is a standard French interior, dual dual cylinder deadbolt. The main problem with it being it was used on a garden gate and it wasn't a weather sealed design so water penetrated the mechanism, and while the heavy duty stainless steel and brass parts were fine, the softer steel parts just rusted and in the end sheard away... We don't technically need the lock and as the gate will be replaced later this year, we've come up with a working solution that will suffice...!

After lunch we went to the library in town and I picked up another Asterix BD to read (it's about my reading age) and two CDs at random, plus a DVD of another comedy film. We then went for a walk along the beach, which was actually quite full, and the weather was very nice, mild with a gentle breeze - and I really should have taken a camera as the light was very nice....

After dinner we binge watched the Danish TV series The Investigation. It's really compulsive viewing, and fascinating as it is nothing like a TV detective series at all. The actual murder is never shown or even named in the series, there are no chases, shoot outs, silly interviews, threats from the head of police about gettings things done in 24 hours, no one falls in love,  and the whole process takes forever to get to a conclusion. I'm guessing that real murder investigations are a lot more like this that Death in Paradise....

Todays stamp is a 4 old pence stamp paying tribute to radar from 1967. I think my mother's father did something with radar, during the second world war, but he died young and even my mother never got to ask him what he actually did. I know he worked for English Electric in Blackburn, and was a relatively senior manager there (he had a company car). I suspect they were doing night fighter work, which would have been very secret and involved fitting radar onto aeroplanes so they could see in the dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.