Quartering

Quartering - that's what people who know about birds say the Barn Owls are doing when they're hunting. This one was there when I drew up in the car park near Newark Priory, but the trees were an obstacle. I also think I my presence may have been unwelcome as it flew off across the marshes.

I walked down the river towards Papercourt lock but didn't want to go far. Besides, I knew if I walked away the owl would come back and, sure enough, it did and it was soon joined by another (not a good image but it shows them together). It's still not the money shot I'm after but I have a few at this distance. I think I'll leave them alone for a bit now. I've marked it on the map should anyone want to blip it. An hour or so before sunset, it will be there.

Got to go, lamb shanks for tea. Yum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.