New reality day 196

Morning walk in brisk crispy weather. About -12°C.

I was working 11-17 today. 2 hours as a back up cashier and then full on. The first hour I didn't have a back up. Someone had messed up the jobs, but I did manage to even take my legal break.

Our boss was M.I.A. today. The word on the street is that 2 people told her yesterday that they are leaving and that caused a stress reaction. I don't know if that is true or not, but there's actually 3 people looking for a way out (searching for other jobs) that I know of. So what I'm thinking is that why don't they treat people better so people wouldn't leave. This explains a bit about our toxic work environment. If people are fed up and leaving...

But I don't think they'll add 2+2. Or if they have, it won't matter. It's just the way the company operates.

We have one guy who came after me. He's worked in 4 stores of the chain. I asked him how this compares to others. He said that this is totally different. He said (rightfully so) 1) there's no team spirit, no US. 2) working schedules are done shitty way 3) No positive feedback, or actually any feedback, no thank yous, no nothing. So it's this store and not the whole chain. But of course the chain is no saint either. My professional opinion is that better work environment would help a lot.

I used to do a job where I would help people feel better. I lectured in different companies and adviced people what they can do to take care of themselves. I know what could be done to help the situation, but no one is willing to listen, let alone ask. The people in charge are beyond that point. Too set in their ways. And I'm just in sales, nothing I've done previously has any meaning to them. I'm just another set of hands for what they want me to do.

I did suggest today that we who will be working on Sunday would so something valentinesy with our mask. Draw hearts or such. The semi boss to who I said this, replied that we could put heart stickers on our masks. So perhaps we will do something nice on Sunday. I think it would improve my mood and perhaps make customers smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.