Rodents rule

By squirk

Fox in the snow

This is the title of a favourite track of mine by Belle & Sebastian. When looking for a link to place here, I was delighted to discover that it's been covered by another favourite musician – here's a link to Grandaddy's cover: Fox in the Snow. It's made my day. 

The poor fox was limping – you can see he's holding is left foreleg so the weight's not on it. This one always looks like he's been in the wars. 

I was pleased that I got out and about at lunchtime. The snow was crispy rather than slippy as the temperature was above freezing. Being a good neighbour, I took the spade and removed as much of the snow as I could from the house path and the pavement in front of the building. A kindly neighbour has gritted the centre of the pavement all the way up, which is a great help as the snow was turning to ice by the end of the day. 

On bird news, the snow has brought chaffinches and long-tailed tits to the garden. I didn't manage a decent shot as I'm on my old camera that doesn't have a great zoom. My Canon isn't accepting a memory card at the moment and needs to be sent off for a service, but as I don't need to camera for work, it's not essential so I have to wait for a repair. At least I'm not going anywhere on holiday and I do have a back-up camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.