Arachne

By Arachne

Colours

I am preoccupied by preparation for the soon-to-arrive shed. To maximise air circulation and minimise condensation I decided I'd build a raised floor. My mum came up with a brilliant idea: use pallets! So this morning I braved the icy air for a walk round the block, found pallet the first and dragged it into my hall.

Then the brother-who-can-do-everything phoned. I don't like to call on him because everyone asks him for help all the time and he always does but I'd told him a few days ago that I wanted to pick his shed brains. He told me that my idea of painting bitumen over the floor was not the best and suggested instead using spacers to raise the shed off the concrete a little. He's always right about everything so I hunted round for possible spacers. The best I could find were four large tap washers. Hmm - not good enough. But ten minutes later he phoned again. He'd found an enormous bag of spacers that he'd forgotten he possessed in his own shed. He would drive them over when darkness stopped him helping other people. (My words, not his.)

Meanwhile the evening light was beautiful and because in a parallel strand of thought I've been wondering about colour combinations for the house I went for a camera-walk looking for good ones. I was surprised that almost all the combinations I came across, especially on shop fronts, were repellent but I found some I liked - here and in extras. The camera got sidelined though when I came across another pallet to haul home. There is everything you can possibly need in the streets around me if you look. There'd have been spacers if I'd still been in need of them.

Then Aladdin arrived and I swapped him a GardenVac (left in the greenhouse by my predecessors) for his big bag of spacers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.