The second half of life..

By twigs

Unexpected

It turned into a very easy decision to stay another night as there were early signs of many of the campers packing up tents, getting boats onto trailers and herding kids.  One by one the camp site began to thin and quieten and by the time I returned from a walk around the bay (well, as far as the rocks would let me if I wanted to stay dry) the last of the families had disappeared leaving only a few older campers.  One chap walked past me and even stopped and commented....."It doesn't take much to change the whole tone of the camp does it?" And he was right.  Whilst it was lovely to hear the kids running around playing and clearly loving the freedom, sunshine and nature, the sound of Mother Nature herself after they all left was so much more peaceful and relaxing....no boat motors, no chinking beer bottles, no mass family jokes, no cross-camp discussions........just the gentle lapping of the lake, the sound of a few birds and .........nothing.  Another chap stopped by and we had a chat about the road and travelling it in a motorhome.  It was the same chap who saw me a little later on the lakefront taking some pics of some local birdlife and asked me if I'd like to join him, his son and his grand-daughters in a boat trip round the headland to a special swimming place.  It didn't take long at all to say yes, I'd love to. I was most definitely not going for the swim though but rather, to see the natural rock jumping platforms that the amazing geology of the area had created.  So my quiet, peaceful afternoon ended up including a bonus boat ride with a lovely group of total strangers.  Absolutely wonderful. Tomorrow though, I shall leave and head to..........hmmmmmm.....where next I wonder? (or should that be 'I wander'?) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.