The second half of life..

By twigs

Lake Waikaremoana

After a terrible, almost sleepless night, I was surprised to waken at 7.30.  I have no idea why I slept so badly but I sure do hope tonight is better.

Left the main campground mid-morning and began the long drive along the narrow and windy gravel road.  The big bonus though - no dust after yesterday's rain.  Made a few stops along the way, though there were actually precious few stopping spots which is a shame as the views would have been spectacular around almost every bend.  Mos tof the time though the road just clings to the hillside and every now and then there's a glimpse of the lake but absolutely no stopping place.  Mind you, with so few vehicles on the road I'm sure I could have stopped anyway!  Sense and safety prevailed though and I didn't.

Dropped in to the only other campsite around the lake - an unserviced site, but such a fabulous lakeside location.  Not sure if I'll stay here just tonight or tomorrow too.  There's quite a few people here at the moment enjoying the long weeeknd, but I'm picking that most to of them will head home tomorrow.  I'm tempted to see how quiet it could get here......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.