The second half of life..

By twigs

Squally Weather

I was up early and decided to have breakfast down at the Waikouaiti beach.  As it happens, I managed to pull up virtually right alongside a rather large seal who was basking in the sun.  I guess with all his blubber he didn't feel the lazy wind that cut straight through me.  Off mid-morning towards Moeraki - a mere 30 or so minute drive.  I stopped along the way in Palmerston to buy some provisions then at Shag Point.  Whilst I've driven this road many times, for some reason I've never turned off to take a look.  Down at the Point the wind was much stronger and even lazier.  I think it must have been whipping up energy straight from Antarctica........it was soooooo cold.  Add to that a flurry of squalls and, despite the sun shining gloriously between spells, it really was rather unpleasant to be out for long in it.  I even got caught in one of the squalls (probably lasted a whole two minutes!) and arrived back at the van frozen and soaked.  Sadly, I haven't quite made it to Moeraki tonight having found a beach-side stopping spot about 5 minutes south.  Lucky I'm not in a hurry to get anywhere!  So tonight, the mighty Pacific is my neighbour and dozens of seagulls who were last seen in a feeding frenzy on the beach.  I think the sound of the ocean will drown them out though.

G'night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.