A time for everything

By turnx3

Evening snowfall

Monday
The day had been dry, but I was home all day, finishing my book and preparing for our Zoom Book club this evening. As I mentioned the other day, this month’s book was A House without windows, by Nadia Hashimi, born in America of Afghan parents, and the book is set in Afghanistan. We were fortunate to be joined on Zoom by the author herself for about 45 minutes. We had learned of the possibility of this from a friend of one of our members, who had her at their discussion of the book. She is apparently quite enthusiastic about joining different book clubs and speaking before different groups. She spoke for a while about the book, and how it came about, and then we asked questions. It was a really interesting time, and through the book and what she said, learned quite a bit about Afghan culture. She has written two other books for adults, and has another coming out in March, as well as two books for children or young people. Once book club was over, Roger and I had a late dinner, and then about 10pm we happened to look outside and much to our surprise saw everything covered in snow. I knew we were supposed to get some snow overnight, but I wasn’t expecting anything significant, but it seems I was wrong! I was quite thankful from a blip point of view, since I hadn’t taken anything all day, and was wondering what I was going to blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.