Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Car buying problems over!

I took this photo with my mobile, looking over a gate near the garage I used to check over the 'new' used car I've been buying. I thought the arrangement of hedges and the way the light caught them reminded me of the tops of waves in the sea. 

I finally won my battle to get the salesman to refund the £95 I paid for the battery.  He insisted that the AA man should have re-charged the old battery and left.  He said they get commission for selling new batteries.  He said  it had passed their pre-sales inspection as 'good'.  I also asked for an email confirming that they would pay me the £95.  That email has not arrived, after 24 hours.  I just don't trust them! 

I then went on to have the car looked over at my local garage.  I wasn't happy with the handbrake which didn't seem to hold firmly enough on hills.  They said it really needed adjusting, as things gradually stretch and the handbrake sits higher an higher in the car....I didn't really understand the explanation but I decided to ask them to fix it on the spot.  The top of the handbrake was much lower afterwards.  It took an hour, so I had an hour's walk around the village where the garage is.  Hence the blip today.

I could imagine that if I asked the salesman to pay for the handbrake adjustment, it would be another stressful argument, and he would again read me the list of the 26 pre-sale checks they are supposed to have done; remind me that the battery was reported to be 'good', and probably tell me that the handbrake was 'acceptable' and passed the check. So I'll end the car 'trial' and keep the car and not try to recoup the cost of the handbrake adjustment.  The good news is that for servicing and anything that occurs needing fixing under the warranty, I don't have to use the garage that sold it to me, but can go to any Toyota dealer.

End of car buying saga!  I had my last new car 12 years ago.  I'm hoping this will last as long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.