olivereastwd

By olivereastwd

Snow-filled alley

Because of the frigid temperatures today, the snow was still around which made for a slippery ride into work (and a freezing one - I double-gloved again which saved my hands, but I reckon I've lost a toe or two to frostbite!) Had a bit of a challenge with one of my clients - he's really struggling with the lockdown restrictions and how much they're limiting what he can do, so takes out his frustration by refusing his medication and kicking me out the flat. Managed to get it sorted which was good, then spent the rest of the morning with another one of the guys doing some cleaning around the house with the radio blaring, which was a lot of fun!

The sun was out and it was blue skies all around when I left work, so it was a lovely view out of window while I was working. I managed to get a bunch of lectures done, so for tomorrow I only have 3 hours of lectures and about 100 pages of reading to do which is very doable. 

The main event of the day was receiving the news that my university will be online-only for the rest of the semester, meaning that the only time I'll be going back to St Andrews between now and starting the new year in September will be to empty my room in halls. Feels very strange to think that I'll be in Glasgow for the next 6 months as it's nowhere close to how this year was supposed to go, but at the same time it's good to have a firm idea about the situation instead of the ambiguity around the semester that we've been having. It's a real shame as I felt I was just settling into living independently, and I really love my small-town life in Fife. However, being there without any in-person classes and basically no other people would be pretty rubbish, so I'm thankful that I can be with my family and that I can keep working. 

Only thing to do at this point is keep truckin' - just go with the flow and hope that next academic year will be (relatively) back to normal. Sucks that it has to be this way, and it's not at all how I would have wished for my first year at university to go, but the only thing I can do is to make the best out of the situation I'm in. It'll be a challenge, but there's not much else I can do. Also important to remember that in terms of getting the short end of the stick, I'm nowhere near the worst of it. 

Keep smiling and keep truckin' - I've been living by that since March of 2020 and I'll keep it going for as long as needs be. Stay safe and well - O

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.