a town called E.

By Eej

Raggedy

If it had been raining I would have worn my rain pants - but then, if it had been raining I probably would not have stopped at the lake on my way home.
No rain.
No rain pants.
Just a messy mess of slush down the sloped way to the dock.
I slid on my ass faster than you can say ... well, ass.

If today had been yesterday I probably would have cried - but then, if it had been yesterday I probably would not have stopped at the lake on my way home.
So I laughed. Really hard. And I played with the 2 swans, 5 ducks and this really raggedy looking young gull while sporting a rather nasty soggy bottom.

It didn't matter;

My boss, in his infinite wisdom (he might read this one day :)), agreed that with the way my schedule was looking I could take the day off tomorrow. I'll do some html/css/web design research and NOT get paid to do so. Because I am nice.

The best thing today, so far, was when I came home: I got some food to restock the feeders and immediately saw one of my lovely bleep-bleeps* fly in. It sat on the swing feeder, which was empty. I said:"You are so impatient. How I am supposed to fill that thing with you in it?" It looked at me. I held out the plastic pot I use to carry food from the garage and said:"You want a snack?"
And ohmygawdohmygawd!; it actually flew up and sat on the rim and picked out a sunflower seed.
I did my very best to not squeal.

This could be the best Thursday I have ever had :)


*red-breasted nuthatch. In case I'll have forgotten that I called them bleep-bleeps by the time I'm 80.



ps. Thanks so much for the lovely comments yesterday. I had a good cry, stuffed my face with 100 kc worth of rice snacks, nursed my headache and woke up feeling 600% better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.