ABSTRACT THURSDAY - GEOMETRIC

Looking out from our bedroom window, and especially with the sun streaming in, you would never believe that last night was the coldest night in the UK since 1995, although I could see that it was very frosty.  

As per usual, I asked Mr. HCB what he had in mind for the day and he said that he thought he might go for a walk - so we got all kitted up in our warm clothes, thermal wear and walking boots and off we went, but not before Mr. HCB had been round to the greenhouse and confirmed that the temperature in there was -4.5 C - so we knew it was going to be a cold walk!

We decided to go the opposite way round on our circular walk and at times the wind in our faces was bitterly cold, so much so that I had to keep stopping to wipe my eyes that were streaming and my nose.  As we walked, we chatted and when we came to The Spotted Cow pub we both said how sad it was that so many places were now closed and we speculated on whether this one would ever open again.  This has always been a popular “family” pub, evidenced by the large climbing frame in the play area to the side.

Of course, there were no children anywhere near the play area because this is also closed, so I took a few photographs, not realising until I looked at the shots on my computer at home that the sun coming through the fence was making geometric shadow patterns on the ground, as well as all the other shapes in the actual climbing frame.

We were only out for about an hour and did a total of 5,000 steps, but we were glad to get back to a warm home and a hot cup of coffee.  We were very pleased with ourselves because we resisted temptation as we passed the M & S shop at the garage, so although I had put a mask and my credit card into my pocket, we decided that foregoing Hot Cross buns, at least for today, was a good idea - mind you, a buttered Hot Cross bun with our coffee would have gone down very well!

“I think the universe is pure geometry -
     basically, a beautiful shape 
          twisting around and 
               dancing over space-time.”
Antony Garrett Lisi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.