WHO KNEW...

…that going out to do some grocery shopping instead of doing it online could be so exciting?  Gill, a good friend of ours, often gets us various things from Aldi, and we are very grateful to her, but it was good to be able to go and do my own shopping as I haven't been out to do that for weeks.

I decided last night that if I was going to Aldi to do some shopping this morning, then I had to get up and go early, so I put my alarm on for 7 a.m.and was out of the house by 7.15 - but not before I had looked out of the bedroom window and seen the sunrise - the first time I have seen it for quite a while, mainly because I don’t often get up that early.

As I drove along the A419, I could see the most beautiful sunrise in the mirror and through the back window, but of course, being a busy dual carriageway, there was no way I could stop, so the shot in my collage is the one I took from our bedroom window.

There were hardly any cars in the car park at Aldi, and the only people in the store were the ladies on the tills and the men filling shelves.  I was greeted by one of the men, who was very courteous and asked how I was - and then I saw a photo opportunity with the huge pile of bananas and the young man stacking the shelves with them.  I quickly whipped out my phone and took a shot - asking if he was smiling and he assured me he was and did a great “thumbs up” sign.  They were both interested in why I was taking photographs, so I told them about Blip - of course!

Wandering around, virtually on my own, I had no problem doing a little bit of rearranging of the Easter Bunnies - although I didn’t buy one!  I did however, buy a packet of Hot Cross buns, so Mr. HCB and I had one each when I got home with a hot cup of coffee - because it was still jolly cold.

So now I need to go and finish the teal coloured hat -  and then I can post the three off to Ngozi, Kosi and Nazom - the new baby.  Since typing this, I have finished the hat so have put a photograph in as an extra.  Now I need to find another project!  

Fortunately, whilst I was out doing the shopping, Mr. HCB has “Dysoned” the ground floor of the house - perhaps I need to go out again and then the upstairs might get done!! 

I did have a list, but have to say that the half a dozen things on it soon became three dozen!  I love this quote because it’s so true:

“The odds of going to the store 
     for a loaf of bread and coming out 
          with only a loaf of bread 
               are three billion to one.” 
Erma Bombeck

P.S.  By proxy, Mr. HCB bought me some tulips, which I’m sure will be blipped sometime and I bought him some heart shaped crumpets!  How exciting is that?

P.P.S.  Just in case you don't already know, today, which is our grandson's birthday, is a palindrome 12/02/2021! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.