Havgull - will travel

Another glorious day - about 2 degrees after maybe minus 2 degrees overnight. Some lumps of ice that I turned out on the deck are still frozen. The sky has been blue all day -  again - and out of the breeze it's really quite warm. 

I went out for a couple of hours this afternoon to a place I've not been before. On the way I looked down and spotted my old pal 'Havgull' setting off and snapped her for my Blip. When I came back less than two hours later she was tied up at the North Pier, so she couldn't have been far.

I walked up the main road and down a track where I hadn't been before - the east way in to Dunollie Woods. The woods belong to the Dunollie estate, but are now managed by the Woodland Trust. These 80 acres of ancient woodland sit on two hills on the north edge of Oban - unfortunately in the past a council housing scheme seems to have found its way to the valley between them. I can't believe that this was allowed! Anyway, I hope that now the woods are safe. I've put a picture on as an extra.

Quote of the Day:

Theodore Roosevelt - “A people without children would face a hopeless future; a country without trees is almost as helpless.”  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.