Tele

I used to work in an office. My first and second jobs in the UK were both office based, and while I would sometimes do something at home it was quite rare. For my first job I would have very much preferred not to travel up and down on the train, for my second job it was mostly fine and on some days I loved by cycle to/from work. For my current job I work from home and telecommute most of the time, and since COVID broke, 100% of the time. There are some advantages of working from home, but it's not perfect and I think if I had an option I'd actually prefer to cycle to work most days if I could.

Today's old one shilling stamp dates from 1969 (before I was born) and apparently shows pulse code modulation. Apparently the British engineer Alec Reeves first patented the idea of using PCM while in France just before WWII to encode sound for used in telecommunication and after the war worked in the lab that created fibre optic cables.

I've done no work I wanted today, because I can't connect to the client's system (their fault), so I've filled my time with a few other minor things - not really ideal...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.