French novels.

I had a request yesterday from my French tutor, who hosts our French Conversation group, as he has a student who was looking to read some French novels.
I am a member of a French book club which was set up over 8 years ago now, for those who wanted to keep up with the language. At the moment we do not meet due to the present climate and quite a few do not like Zoom!
I still like to read and have found I enjoy certain authors, which is natural!
This student has now emailed me and asked for recommendations, but also said she had read a lot of French in the course of her studies.
I only took it as far as the old “Ordinary level” system years ago.
How to choose for her then?
I have a photocopy of a long list from a French Book Club in Esher which one of our members acquired, due to knowing someone who lived there.
So I attached it to my reply, along with a photo of some of the books which I have read which are still on our shelves.
Our local hospice shop will take French novels (in French of course) which was a real help.
I’ve off-loaded quite a few in the past few years!
We would each buy the same one, by looking at Used books on Amazon. I’ve had several for 1p! Then the postage on top.
Quite a lot came from sources in France.
However, with Brexit, it will be more difficult to source them, and certainly more expensive.
My email winged it’s way to the student this morning. I had a reply by this afternoon.
The outcome being she had chosen one of my books in the photo, and I will post it to her. (She is quite happy paying the postage cost).
Maybe I could set up a book exchange!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.