Early morning sunshine.Sunlight catching a photo.

I woke at 5.00 am today, and couldn’t get back to sleep. I got up at 5.50 am and made some toast and coffee, then did a bit of reading in the quietness.
Eventually the draw of catching the sun appearing over the rooftops coaxed me up the garden in my warm fleecy hooded dressing gown and crocs. I took several photos. One in extras.
I also could hear a woodpecker drumming in the tree of the school grounds, watched two pigeons engaged in their courting ritual bowing up and down, goldfinches in a nearby tree, and two hedge sparrows also doing their equivalent of a mating display, flitting about after each other and fluttering their wings. All this in a temperature of -4C.
I put out more bird seed, and the blackbird came to me immediately for sultanas. He sits about stride distant.
Eventually I came back indoors to have some more coffee and toast.
As I sat here in the front room, (it is now full daylight at 8.00 am) I watched the sun track across my canvas of Yosemite. I took the photo when we were there in May 2014. Like Blipper keibr it fascinates me the rhythm of the seasons and the movement of our planet round the sun.
I do not pretend to understand the Physics of it all, just observe the effects.
I am now having my daily bowl of porridge, this time with honey and sultanas! Well I can’t let the blackbird have them all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.