Lord and Lady Cardinal

We've had some cold days, and the birds have been very hungry. My husband is a good bird care taker. He feeds them multiple times each day and takes them fresh water.

This was the scene at the one feeder on this morning. The female cardinal (who is sort of a dusky greenish-brown color) was feeding at the peanut tray, as the male (bright red) watched over her from the rhododendron bushes.

The male is always very protective of the female, and allows her to eat first. The lady cardinal is also a favorite of my husband's. If he sees that she is out there, looking hungry, he takes her extra rounds of chopped peanuts.

At one point, I was watching the female eat, and the camera was all zoomed in on her. My husband, standing beside me by the front window, suddenly said: LOOK! THE MALE IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU!

And indeed he was: he sat about three feet away on the other side of the window. What a great view! But of course, as soon as I moved, HE moved, and I missed that photo. (RATS!) So here is this one instead: both cardinals in one shot.

My soundtrack song is an 80s fave: Warrant, with I Saw Red.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.