An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Guess what hand the treat’s in?

I've cloned out the twin strings of drool that were hanging from the sides of her mouth.  You're welcome :-)

We got news from our friends T & V today that Lola's retriever pal Milly suffered paw burn after her walk the other morning.  Poor girl.  She's recovered now.  Lola gets Musher's Wax massaged into her paws summer and winter.  She is such a Princess!

We were supposed to go a short drive this afternoon to give the car a run and me the chance to take some snowy landscape shots.  I should have know as soon as the plan was hatched last night that the blue skies and sunshine of the last couple of days would disappear.  Couldn't even see the Crieff hills, so I opted to stay in and watch a Webinar on the Silver Efex editing software.  Dozed off less than 10 minutes in!  Nothing to do with they quality of the webinar, I was really enjoying it.  No, more to do with my increasing inability to stay awake any time I sit still!  

I realise it's a while since I bored you silly enthralled you with crochet talk, so let me put that right.  My latest blanket (the Lollipop and Lettuce one.  see extra) is taking forever and it's driving me nuts!  I am enjoying crocheting it, it just seems as though my wee hands are going nineteen to the dozen for hours on end, only to produce two inches of blanket!  

I think it's not helped by the fact it's a Granny stripe blanket rather than a Granny Square, so it's quite wide.  It seems to takes ages to go from one end to the the other.  

Also, the last two blankets and the head warmers I crocheted used much thicker yarns, one of them called Thick & Quick (I will leave that there for you to make up your own jokes.  Just know my inner eight year old snorts every time I see the label) so results were much faster.  The thicker yarn for my next project is within my eye line and is calling to me to start on that but I shall resist and get this blanket finished, although I may complete three more rows and call it a scarf ;-))) 

No cooking tonight.  Dinner courtesy of J&V's Dine at Home Valentines Menu.

Starter - Twice baked shuffle with stilton and creamed spinach for D and Crispy duck wontons with sweet chilli noodles for me.

Mains - Fillet of salmon en croute with white wine cream for D, breast of chicken in chasseur sauce for me, both with creamed potatoes and buttered veg.

Dessert - both opted for strawberry cheesecake, apparently served with golden love hearts.

I shall close my eyes as I eat and imagine myself in their intimate little restaurant (it's in a little house on our High Street and is literally two small front rooms converted into a restaurant) with F chatting as she pours the wine and J coming to discuss the food, holidays and all manner of local stuff once his cheffing duties are over.  Oh I miss that place.

And then it will be time to psyche myself up for the opening of the avalanche of Valentines that will arrive in the morning.  Since it falls on a Sunday this year, I am assuming the Postie has left them in the garage.  David looked at me as though I was nuts earlier when I suggested this.  I think he's bluffing to put me off the scent ;-))

And on that note, Happy Saturday Peeps! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.