An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Melting moments...

First of all I want to say a huge and heartfelt thank you to all you lovely blippers who commented and left hearts and stars on my 10th anniversary blip yesterday.  I really am overwhelmed by your kindness.  I've not managed to reply to every one yet but I will :-)

Today I saw some cute little icicles hanging from the holly tree bedside the door of the garden room.  Perfect for today's blip I thought.  I'll just make lunch first then get my camera.  You'd think after 10 years of blipping I would know that blips wait for no one, and of course when I returned 20 minutes later they were gone.  Thankfully the bit of snow they'd been clinging to was still there so that served the purpose.

Alan wanted to go out for a short run in his car this afternoon, which was needed both for his and the car's good.  Of course they meant David had to shovel all the snow out of the path of the car to get it out the drive way. Took him two hours.  He was cursing whistling cheerfully by the end.

Ashleigh got Alan into the car.  It's been so long she was struggling to remember how his wheelchair clips in!  Then she jumped in the driver's seat, started the ignition and.....nothing.  Dead as a dodo.  David then had to get the snow cleared off our car and move it so he could jump start Alan's car.  Fortunately he could raise the suspension on our car to move it so didn't have to clear the other half of the driveway, and soon Alan and Ashleigh were on their way. 

Meanwhile, after a very dodgy start (me and technology do not good bedfellows make!) I Whatsapped with a friend then allowed myself some crochet time.  

After dinner (my make-it-up-as-you-go-along recipe for chorizo carbonara, which turned out rather well :-) we FaceTimed with Ele and Kenny.  Niece Jen was there too (update - not only has she been offered two unconditional Uni places at UWS and Glasgow Uni, she now has an interview with Strathclyde on 23rd Feb)  

Been ages since we FaceTimed them and it was really lovely to catch up face to face with them.  Good to laugh at the necessary precautions but also the complete ridiculousness of our situations.  

Ele's hair is the longest I have seen it since 1987, Kenny has forgotten how to sit up straight and spent the entire conversation listing to the right,  and Jen now has a fringe.  First time I've seen her sport one since preschool days.  

When I glimpsed at the view they were seeing, they appeared to be chatting to my mother and an old bald man.  We must have inadvertently pressed some kind of filter that's my excuse and I am sticking to it!  like the lawyer guy the other day who spent the whole of his zoom meeting with legal colleagues, with a kitten's face in place of his own. 


Isn't technology wonderful?!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.