An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Job done...

Backblipped


Lola's retriever pal Milly's owners, T & V, popped round for coffee this morning.

They are both on a serious health kick so I swithered over what treat to give them with their coffee.  I couldn't offer nothing, but equally didn't want to sabotage their positive results.  In the end I decided to make scones (see extra :-) as they are very low in sugar and fat (glossing over the butter and jam on top! :-))

The timing was perfect as T & V arrived just as I was taking them out the oven.

Coffee poured, scones duly anointed with said butter and jam, we retired to the living room.  It very quickly became apparent that scones were indeed the right choice as T & V explained that they had decided to allow themselves a treat this week as part of their maintenance programme and scones are the very thing they've been craving.

T said when he came into the hallway and smelled the scones his heart soared!  lol!  Not sure my scones have ever had that effect before, but when you've been on a very strict 8-week health kick and dreaming about scones, when presented with one straight from the oven with butter and jam it's bound to have a positive effect on one's mood :-))

We spent a lovely time chatting with them.  Lola knows them well of course, so she enjoyed their attention (Milly was snoozing at home as she'd had an early walk.)  

After they left, we had a late lunch (still full after the scones! :-) then David took Lola to the moor and I finally finished the set of  Golden Retriever Good Luck cards that my friend Carole asked for.  I was worried she was looking for something more refined but I sent her this pic and she is delighted with them so I am very relieved.  

I have a number of ideas for two larger paintings that I want to have a go at, but my hip is having a bit of an arthritic flare up so I can't sit at the table for very long.  It's very frustrating.  

On the plus side, it's giving me more thinking and planning time so hopefully, when I do start it, I'll have worked out what I need to do and be happy with my first attempt.  That's the theory anyway :-))

PS After admiring our car and buying the same model on our recommendation, I was delighted and very relieved to hear T & V both love their new wheels.  Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.