CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

An immature herring gull chased by a crow

As dusk was drawing in I was at my desk when I saw a lot of gulls circling above the rear gardens outside my window. They occasionally gather to glide over us looking for food in the gardens. Gulls aren't prevalent around our town but I think they come when the weather worsens. At this moment it had started to gently snow again.

I had my camera close by and opened the window that looks out over the gardens. There were at least twenty white gulls of varied size and all were flying quite gently on the breeze, circling and occasionally making a dive down to a neighbour's garden a few doors down. I think there was a pile of bread as I saw one gull with a big white lump of bread in its beak.

There were twelve magpies gathered in one of the trees at the bottom of the gardens, while a bunch of crows flew in and out of their favoured tree perches. Then I spotted this very large bird approaching  our garden. It was being chased by a couple of smaller white gulls as well as this crow,  which I think is an immature herring gull. I want to blip it as it is an relatively unusual visitor to our valley, as far as I know. I've cropped out three other birds which I onl=y managed to get parts of, a wing, a head and a tail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.