The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Pepper Patch Punctuation - P3

Recently, having become much too reliant on Facebook or Messenger (each proving woefully inadequate to replace pleasantly rambling face to face chats over a cuppa), I decided to revive an e-mail newsletter to “old” friends (some of them very). As I was writing I realized, and not for the first time, that though I may speak English, I write in punctuation – really (he grins). Consider the following.

Parentheses: They, the way I use them at least (often inter-changeably with commas), fill several functions. Speaking parenthetically, as it were, allows me to say one thing and explain what else is going through my mind at the same time. It's also useful as a way to expand on what I'm trying to say without going through the bother of starting a new sentence. 
Quotation Marks: In the Pepper Patch they are "sometimes" used traditionally but (as often as not) are used as a tone of voice or a wink – as in “old” friends (visualize "air quotes").   
The Dash:  In Pepper Patch punctuation (P3), a dash is used to separate what I tell you I'm going to say – from what I actually say (he winks - “whimsically”). 
Then, last but not least ... the Ellipsis. In P3 it is the equivalent of a “dramatic pause”. Let me repeat that ... a "dramatic pause".

So, what does this have to do with today's pic? Nothing - nothing at all (he grins an impishly silly grin). I woke up to thunderstorms and missed my morning camera roll - it's an emergency blip.

Silly me. Silly Saturday … and the adventure (tongue "firmly" in cheek) continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.