Hummingbirds...and Snow

Ohh...the worst sort of weather here in western Oregon. Freezing rain last night on top of snow created an impenetrable 2" layer of frozen snow. We had a bit of fluffy snow this morning, so a half inch or so on top of that, and now it's raining, soon to turn to freezing rain. Hopefully we'll begin to thaw out tomorrow.

I sat down with a cup of tea in my sun room this morning, watching the big, fat snowflakes, and realized that the hummingbird from yesterday (or so I fantasize) was back trying to feed from the once again frozen nectar. So I dashed out and refilled the feeder. By the time I got back to my chair, the hummingbird was at the feeder. There were two of them today, chasing each other off. I read about Anna's Hummingbirds, the ones we have here in the winter that do not migrate. Their range has expanded because of feeders and warmer winters with flowering plants much of the winter. So today they couldn't find anything but the feeders. I also noticed that one of them spends a lot of time sitting in the top of the curly willow...I bet they have a nest buried deep inside. 

This is not a terrific shot of the hummingbird, but I cleaned the windows in and out and then set my camera up in the sun room with the telephoto lens on it. Of course it's dramatically cropped and the light was low so the ISO is high....not great quality, but how fun! 

Meanwhile, I was so stuck inside that I decided to make bread for the first time in absolutely eons...it's got to have been close to 20 years now. But kneading is like riding a bike...it comes right back without even thinking. The loaves are in their 2nd rising, and the oven is heating up! Yum!

Hope you've all had a lovely and safe Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.