KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Cold, Gray Day...but an Excellent One!

I finally had the chance to meet fellow Blip mate LoisBiz today. We've been trying to meet since we discovered we live around the corner from each other, and for one reason or another we haven't...and today we finally did it! I went with Lois to her garden club and was so impressed that I joined! We had the best time talking and I know it's just the beginning of a marvelous friendship. I meet the BEST people on Blip!

Not much new popping up in the garden due to the cold today, but here's a sweet little Siberian Squill (Scilla siberica). It's actually native to SW Russia, and Turkey, not Siberia. In the midwestern US it has become somewhat invasive, but in my garden I think the conditions are not quite ideal, so it just pops up here and there, thrills me with its lovely blue-ness and disappears completely in late spring. It has however, gained the Royal Horticultural Society's Award of Garden Merit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.