Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Boatsheds, Wellington

The first day of Autumn dawned here in Wellington with a cloudless blue sky and a gentle northerly breeze.
My daughter and a friend were off to do a "House and Garden"tour in and around Wellington. They were going to look over some of the lovely homes and gardens that have been featured in New Zealands' glossie magazine ..."NZ House and Garden". I'm glad it was them and not me as I would have either been green with envy or cast into a deep depression on inspection of these dream homes.
No, it was the Wellington Waterfront for me. They dropped me off around 10.am and I was in seventh heaven. Images at every turn.
I believe the Wellington Waterfront should be declared a National Treasure:. There are museums, galleries, cafes, sports facilities, boats, harbout views, people going about their lives, lunchtime runners, walkers and cyclists. The people pour out of the downtown offices in their skimpy gear, working out to re-energise themselves for the afternoon's grind.
Sigh....I can't get enough of the place. I visited the Academy of Fine Arts first up and got some culture under my belt...great stuff on display. I then meandered on my way right around to Oriental Bay and the famous boatsheds. The light was getting pretty harsh by then but with a polariser on the camera and a bit of judicious post processing I am quite pleased with my Blip for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.