Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

The latest project

The most recent cross stitch is finished, so I opted for something a little larger for my evening hobbywork this time.  It's a rug kit - picked up sometime in the mid 90s, probably on some sort of bargain offer, or even possibly from a charity shop, but I absolutely cannot remember.  I'd have said I'd had it longer, but the paperwork is marked ©1995, so it can't be older than that.  It's a picture of leaping dolphins.

The original intention was to make it for one of my daughters, but I didn't want to make it till I had something similar to make for the other, and I never got around to it, so it has been sitting in a cupboard for many years.

The packaging of the precut wool is odd - every plastic roundel has a full selection of the 8 colours.  I think the proportions of each colour in the whole rug are reflected in the proportions in the roundels.  The predominant colour is the darker shade of blue, but most of that is at the top of the design, along with the two shades of grey.  Those of you who have ever latch hooked a rug will know that you have to start at the bottom of the design.  Here, the main colours are the two shades of aqua, and there isn't much of these colours in each plastic roundel.  Initially I took the plastic off each roundel as I ran out of aqua, and sorted the wool into the plastic containers (ex-takeaway) but after a few, I realised that if I'm careful, I can extract the aqua and leave most of the rest still tucked up in it's plastic - except it is practically impossible not to take at least some of the cream at the same time as the light aqua.  Some of the roundels have also had the light blue extracted.

In other news - well, there wasn't any other news.  Just another lockdown Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.